An UAC elevation and a trip to the services interface later, i Tunes informed me that if I didn't transfer purchases to my computer I'd lose them, and asked me if I wanted to continue. A cancel and a right click on i Pad → Transfer purchases later, i Tunes told me that the upgrade would wipe the i Pad completely clean and that I'd need to sync everything beforehand, and asked me if I wanted to continue... Upgrading while losing all the data or doing syncronization? The i Pad "tabs" show all sync options are disabled. How can I upgrade an i Pad (or an i Pod) to a newer version of i OS using a brand new computer without losing data in the process? Would a backup include the current version of i OS, making the restoring process undo the upgrade in the first place?
By backing up your music before syncing, you can prevent i Tunes from deleting it. She spent three years writing for her local newspaper, "The Colt," writing editorials, news stories, product reviews and entertainment pieces.
As all i Pod owners might know, it isn’t possible to sync your i Pod with more than one computer.
But what if this computer (with which you sync the i Pod) dies? So keep reading to see how you can sync your i Pod with a new computer without the risk of losing data.
I remember this from when I upgraded to i OS5 last year.
First, go into i Tunes and see what apps, etc are backuped up on your computer.